The english version is under progress, currently untranslated chapters are in german...
In case of incorrect translations please contact "translate (at) mehev (dot) de" - thank you
|

Historical

By the end of the nineteen-twenties, a group of high school students ran their 1 gauge trains at christmas in a living room. The parents freed themselves by allowing to rent halls for this railway exhibition. The jump to public exhibition came when the school board could be convinced by the didactic nature of these events to offer gyms, drafting rooms and so forth. As at a show the immense deficit of 50 Reichsmark for that time had emerged, the young men decided to create the association model railway Hamburg on November 10, 1931, which was registered in December 1931. 1938 a room of 100 m² for 90 Reichsmark per month could be rented in the Bergstraße. The first permanent facility was built with the theme "Göttingen". Here also a small workshop could be set up. For regular demonstrations before an audience the space was not enough. During the war the room was slightly damaged. The operation had rested anyway. Some outsourced locomotives were unfortunately lost.

The new layout

In 1946 Professor Dr. Walter Hävernick, the longtime chairman of the association, became director of the Museum of Hamburg History. He had in 1944 written a book about a Hamburg Transport Museum, whose core pieces should be a heritage railway operation and a large model railway. For a new-build model railway with a Hamburg station he could provide a room in the museum. As a model, with which one could show the functionality of the railway, only the station Hamburg-Harburg came into question. This had a large passenger station to the confluence of several routes, a rail yard, a local cargo facility and a railway depot. At the same time a direct transshipment rail / sea should be shown on the main freight station / Kai-right side. Consequently, it was - first for 20 years - a contract concluded with the Ministry of Cultural Affairs. Friends from Sweden procured us 250 m² plywood for the construction of the basement. They received as thanks a 1:10 scale model of a Swedish sleeper. In just two years, the model was built up and operated.
The founding members of the model railway Hamburg eV could relax when on October 7, 1949 their long-cherished wish came true. By commissioning its large model railway in the Museum of Hamburg History, they informed about the railway and its promotion. Upon the fulfilment of this desire they had worked for more than 20 years. At the opening there was a little problem, known as demonstration effect, in other words initially nothing worked. But thereafter the system proved to be very reliable and yet could be demonstrated without any technical failure over 40 years.

The catastrophe

In spring 1994, a short-circuit put a large part of the plant standstill. Demonstrations could again only be performed on a part of the model. From December 1994 it turned out that many parts of the model were worn. The vehicles had to be repaired as parts were used up. Some had covered already about 6000 kilometers. In February 1995, the museum called for a fire protection expert opinion, demanding practically renewal of all wiring. Thus, the continued existence of the entire system was in acute danger. Lack revenue unfortunately forced dismissal of the two employees.

The restart

The commitment of many club members and the pleasing journalistic echo led to a strong start-up funding with material and cash. Thanks to that the model could be revised and persists today.
As part of the revision all the old tracks were replaced by new ones, more like the tracks of the big original. Linked to this the change from three-wire AC on the two-wire DC system was managed and the need to retrofit all vehicles to be used accordingly. We installed the PC-based control system of Gahler + Ringstmeier. For each train this system stores fixed routes and monitors the current location of all reported locomotives. When driving, it provides the routes according to the specified routes and secures the train against accidents from side and back. Thus, the system allows a largely automatic sequence of demonstrations. A colleague can supervise demonstrations alone. All monitoring and safety functions are maintained even during manual operation. On December 6, 1996, the demonstrations with 16 trains could begin on about 40% of the railway tracks again.
Two employees were reinstated. For 50-year anniversary on October 7, 1999 more essential parts of the system could be put into operation again, this involved the main freight station and the train station 'Cuxhaven' with its connecting route. The overhead wire has been largely completed. With the new technic, we were able to show more trains than ever before.
The schedule of the demonstration before the collapse was constructed to a daily routine in the Harburg railway station. In contrast, today's topic "100 years of railway history in Hamburg" - from Prussian compartment cars to the InterCityExpress as well as corresponding train compositions in freight transport.
Due to lack of public funds the cultural authority was forced to cancel its funding. In October 1999, the cooperation with the Hamburg Museum has been adapted to the given requirements. Since then, no additional entry is charged any more.

The progress since 2000

All parts of the plant are equipped with new track material and returned to service. The new station Hbr rear right of the stairs to the hidden yard used as storage sidings. Train Station 3 below the station "Elbbrücke" was completely redesigned. A separate switch board allows visitors to independently carry out shunting in this area. The first variant of the switch board we built from standard parts. It has not kept long and is currently replaced by a more robust self-made one. The hidden yard also has been redesigned. At the entrance of the Pfeilerbahn station-part "Lüneburg" the trains no longer cross the route of the opposite direction. To improve the reliability we have enlarged the radius of the track in entry and exit of Pfeilerbahn / hidden yard-part "Buchholz". The track radius of Harburg towards hidden yard-part "Lüneburg" has been increased. Our landscape specialists have revised the terrain of ​​the Seevekanal and provided it with additional trim material. Some buildings at Hamburg-Harburg station are already restored, others will follow. The local goods plant in Harburg and the terrain in front of the portal of Süderelbbrücken have become "victims" of our landscape specialists. There and in other places of our model you can discover a lot of nice details. The Bahnbetriebswerk Harburg (depot) is redesigned. A donation enabled us to incorporate a new hub of the company Bockholt. As part of the demonstrations a locomotive is rotated thereby. The new water crane is a donation from the company Besig. We also installed a refueling system for diesel vehicles after the redesign of the coal depot. Four track control panels have been built and are in use. Two are in switch tower and two in the hidden yard. From there visitors also can drive trains under guidance. Additionally, we have equipped our model railway with screen control (BSTW). Two of these BSTW are installed in the hidden yard and four in the switch tower. With the BSTW also several colleagues share control of our model railway – one at each BSTW. Many visitors also prefer BSTW when driving trains under guidance. The company Viessmann has donated us 5 four-axle sliding wall wagons in Viessmann décor, built by the company Bockholt. On occasion of our 75-year club anniversary on November 10, 2006 the company Bockholt donated the matching locomotive, a BR 232. This train, amplified by some modern freight cars will be presented at each performance. Generous private donations allow us sometimes to purchase new locomotives and wagons. We have chosen vehicles that were often used in Hamburg: one steam locomotive BR 50 with cabin tender, BR 41 with new boiler and oil tender, BR 01.10 with new boiler and oil tender and a BR 94 have also been procured. We could also take into operation a diesel locomotive BR V200 with matching F-train carriages and a steam locomotive BR 38 with tub tender with several new two-axle passenger cars. The latter runs a passenger train to Soltau. As a special gift for our 60th anniversary, we got a steam locomotive BR 24. Finally on our system, a shuttle train with "silver liners" and a V100 is running. Our latest vehicle is a model of the SVT 04.5. Other historic models of steam, diesel and electric locomotives, built by members of the association, were retrofitted and worked for the 2-wire DC system. We like to mention here the steam engines of the BR 03, 82, 87, 89 and 70-75 BR 93 and BR 215 diesel locomotive, the TEE railcars VT 11.5 and electric Locomotive BR 103. They all run on our system. Within the renovation of the museum the railway hall has been renovated as well. It has received new windows and was repainted. The very various old cabinets were replaced by uniform ones from the Museum of Hamburg History. Our workshop on the top floor of the museum has also been redesigned after the renovation. We now have a test facility that allows us to perform the testing of repaired and remanufactured locomotives regardless of the demonstrations. For our younger visitors we have built a H0-gauge play unit. This is designed for children to deal with it without constant supervision. Sometimes also a little accident might happen. Our great original (Deutsche Bahn) was unfortunately forced to replace the historic Pfeilerbahn by a new construction. Instead of brick viaduct there is now a steelsided ramp. But the historical Pfeilerbahn can be admired in the future in our layout!

Forecast

We lack some Hamburg typical vehicles for our historic model railway traffic under the slogan "100 years of railway history in Hamburg". For example the steam engine BR 03.10 which was used in the 1950s from Hamburg in front of F-trains. A "metronome train" unfortunately is not yet running on our layout. The modern freight cars are only in small numbers in use on our tracks. We would be very pleased if sponsors could help us with the purchase of some of these vehicles. We are a nonprofit organization and can also certify tax saving donations. The above mentioned control panel for visitors for the "Station 3" next to the station "Elbbrücke" may soon be put into operation again. Then our guests are allowed to independently solve shunting again. The work-up and conversion of other historic vehicles on the 2-wire DC system continues. For the implementation of these activities, we are looking for support from hobby colleagues with experience and technical skills. Even colleagues with good knowledge of electrical engineering and electronics are very welcome. If you have a willingness to participate, we will include you as a member of our club for a trial period to get to know eachother.

|

Historisches

Bis zum Ende der zwanziger Jahre baute eine Gruppe Gymnasiasten ihre Spur1-Bahnen zu Weihnachten gemeinsam in einem Wohnzimmer auf. Die Eltern kauften sich frei, indem sie gestatteten, hierfür Gaststättensäle anzumieten. Der Sprung an die Öffentlichkeit gelang, als die Schulbehörde von der belehrenden Art dieser Veranstaltungen überzeugt werden konnte und dafür Turnhallen, Zeichensäle usw. her gab. Als bei einer Schau das für damalige Zeiten ungeheure Defizit von 50 Reichsmark entstanden war, entschlossen sich die jungen Herren am 10. November 1931 zur Gründung des Vereins Modelleisenbahn Hamburg e.V., der im Dezember 1931 eingetragen wurde. 1938 konnte in der Bergstraße ein Raum von 100 m² für 90 Reichsmark im Monat angemietet werden. Die erste feste Anlage entstand mit dem Thema "Göttingen". Zwar konnte hier auch eine kleine Werkstatt eingerichtet werden, für regelmäßige Vorführungen vor Publikum reichte der Raum jedoch nicht. Den Krieg überstand die Anlage leicht beschädigt. Der Betrieb hatte ohnehin geruht. Einige ausgelagerte Triebfahrzeuge gingen leider verloren.

Die neue Anlage

1946 wurde Professor Dr. Walter Hävernick, der langjährige Vorsitzende, Direktor des Museums für Hamburgische Geschichte. Er hatte schon 1944 eine Schrift über ein hamburgisches Verkehrsmuseum verfasst, dessen Kernstücke ein Museumsbahn-Betrieb und eine große Modellbahn sein sollten. Für die nach einem Hamburger Thema neu zu bauende Modellbahn konnte er im Museum einen Saal bereitstellen. Als Vorbild, mit dem man alle Funktionen der Eisenbahn zeigen konnte, kam nur der Bahnhof Hamburg-Harburg in Frage. Er verfügte über einen großen Personenbahnhof mit dem Zusammenlauf mehrerer Strecken, einen Rangierbahnhof, eine Ortsgüteranlage und ein Bahnbetriebswerk. Zugleich sollte am Hauptgüterbahnhof / Kai-Rechts ein Direktumschlag Bahn / Schiff gezeigt werden. Somit konnte - zunächst für 20 Jahre - ein Vertrag mit der Kulturbehörde geschlossen werden. Freunde aus Schweden beschafften uns 250 m² Sperrholzplatten für den Bau der Anlage. Sie erhielten dafür ein 1:10 Modell eines schwedischen Schlafwagens. In nur zwei Jahren wurde die Anlage erstellt.
Die Gründungsmitglieder des Modelleisenbahn Hamburg e.V. konnten aufatmen, als am 7. Oktober 1949 ihr lang gehegter Wunsch in Erfüllung ging. Durch die Inbetriebnahme ihrer großen Modelleisenbahnanlage im Museum für Hamburgische Geschichte konnten sie über die Eisenbahn informieren und für sie werben. An der Erfüllung dieses Wunsches hatte man mehr als 20 Jahre gearbeitet. Bei der Eröffnung kam es zwar zu dem bekannten Vorführeffekt, d.h. zunächst ging nichts. Danach erwies sich die Anlage aber doch als sehr zuverlässig und konnte mehr als 40 Jahre ohne einen technisch bedingten Ausfall vorgeführt werden.

Die Katastrophe

Im Frühjahr 1994 legte ein Kurzschluss einen großen Teil der Anlage lahm. Vorführungen konnten erst wieder ab Dezember 1994 auf einem Teilstück der Anlage durchgeführt werden. Es zeigte sich, dass viele Anlagenteile verschlissen waren. Auch die Fahrzeuge mussten zum Teil aufwendig aufgearbeitet werden, hatten doch einige bereits ca. 6000 Kilometer zurückgelegt. Im Februar 1995 verlangte ein Brandschutzgutachten, praktisch die gesamte Verkabelung zu erneuern. Damit war der Fortbestand der gesamte Anlage akut gefährdet. Mangels Einnahmen mussten die beiden Angestellten leider entlassen werden.

Der Neubeginn

Dem Engagement vieler Vereinsmitglieder und dem erfreulichen, publizistischen Echo, das mit Material und Bargeld zu einer kräftigen Anschubfinanzierung führte, ist es zu verdanken, dass die Anlage überarbeitet werden konnte und heute fortbesteht.
Im Rahmen der Überarbeitung wurden alle alten Gleise durch vorbildlichere neue ersetzt. Damit verbunden war die Umstellung vom Dreileiter-Wechselstrom- auf das Zweileiter-Gleichstrom-System und die Notwendigkeit, alle einzusetzenden Fahrzeuge entsprechend umzurüsten. Für die Steuerung der Anlage installierten wir das PC-gestützte System der Fa. Gahler+Ringstmeier. Für jedes Triebfahrzeug speichert dieses System festgelegte Routen und überwacht den aktuellen Standort aller gemeldeten Triebfahrzeuge. Im Fahrbetrieb stellt es die Fahrstraßen entsprechend der vorgegebenen Routen und sichert den Zug gegen Flanken- und Auffahrten. Damit ermöglicht das System einen weitgehend automatischen Ablauf der Vorführungen. Ein Kollege kann die Vorführungen allein beaufsichtigen. Alle Überwachungs- und Sicherungsfunktionen bleiben auch bei manuellem Betrieb erhalten. Am 6. Dezember 1996 konnten die Vorführungen mit 16 Zügen auf etwa 40% der Gleisanlagen wieder beginnen.
Es wurden wieder zwei Mitarbeiter eingestellt. Zum 50 jährigen Anlagenjubiläum am 7. Oktober 1999 konnten weitere wesentliche Teile der Anlage wieder in Betrieb genommen werden, dazu gehörten auch der Hauptgüterbahnhof und der Bahnhof 'Cuxhaven' mit seiner Anschlussstrecke. Die Oberleitung war weitgehend fertiggestellt. Mit der neuen Steuerung konnten wir mehr Züge in einer Vorführung zeigen als jemals zuvor.
Der Fahrplan der Vorführungen vor dem Zusammenbruch war auf einen Tagesablauf im Bahnhof Harburg aufgebaut. Im Gegensatz dazu ist unser heutiges Thema "100 Jahre Eisenbahngeschichte in Hamburg" - von preußischen Abteilwagen bis zum ICE sowie entsprechende Zugbildungen im Güterverkehr.
Angesichts der leeren öffentlichen Kassen war die dem Verein eigentlich wohlgesonnene Kulturbehörde gezwungen, ihre Zuwendungen zu streichen. Im Oktober 1999 ist die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Museum für Hamburgische Geschichte den gegebenen Erfordernissen angepasst worden. Seitdem wird kein zusätzlicher Eintritt mehr erhoben.

Die Entwicklung ab 2000

Alle Teile der Anlage sind mit neuem Gleismaterial ausgerüstet und wieder in Betrieb. Der Abstellbahnhof Hbr hinten rechts an der Treppe zum Außenbahnhof und der zusätzlich eingebaute darunter werden während der Vorführungen befahren und als Abstellgruppe genutzt. Den Bahnhof 3 an dem Haltepunkt "Elbbrücke" haben wir vollständig neu gestaltet. Er hat auch ein eigenes Drucktasten-Stellwerk erhalten. Dies ermöglicht Besuchern, selbstständig Rangierfahrten in diesem Bereich durchzuführen. Die erste Variante des Stellwerks haben wir aus Serienteilen gebaut. Es hat leider nicht lange gehalten und wird z. Zt. durch einen robusteren Eigenbau ersetzt. Der Außenbahnhof wurde umgestaltet. Bei der Einfahrt von der Pfeilerbahn in den Außenbahnhof-Teil "Lüneburg" kreuzen die Züge jetzt nicht mehr die Fahrstraße der Gegenrichtung. Zur Verbesserung der Betriebssicherheit haben wir die Gleisradien in der Ein- und Ausfahrt Pfeilerbahn / Außenbahnhof-Teil "Buchholz" vergrößert. Der Gleisradius der Strecke von Harburg in Richtung Außenbahnhof-Teil "Lüneburg" ist im Bereich des Seevekanal auch auf unseren Standardwert vergrößert worden. Das Gelände im Bereich des Seevekanal haben unsere Landschaftsspezialisten überarbeitet und mit zusätzlichem Ausstattungsmaterial versehen. Einige Bauwerke am Bahnhof Hamburg-Harburg sind bereits restauriert, weitere folgen. Auch die Ortsgüteranlage in Harburg und das Gelände vor dem Portal der Süderelbbrücken ist „Opfer“ unserer Landschaftsspezialisten geworden. Dort und an anderen Stellen unserer Anlage sind viel nette Details neu zu entdecken. Das Bahnbetriebswerk Harburg ist neu gestaltet. Eine Spende ermöglichte uns, eine neue Drehscheibe von der Firma Bockholt einzubauen. Im Rahmen der Vorführungen wird eine Lok damit gedreht. Der neue Wasserkran ist eine Spende der Firma Besig. Eine Betankungsanlage für Dieselfahrzeuge konnten wir nach der Umgestaltung des Kohlenbansen auch einbauen. Vier Drucktasten-Stellwerke wurden gebaut und sind im Einsatz. Zwei stehen im Stellwerksturm und zwei im Außenbahnhof. Von dort aus können auch Besucher unter Anleitung selbst Züge fahren. Zusätzlich haben wir unsere Modellbahnanlage mit Bildschirmstellwerken (BSTW) ausgerüstet. Im Außenbahnhof sind zwei dieser BSTW und im Stellwerksturm vier installiert. Mit den BSTW können auch mehrere Kollegen gemeinsam – an jedem BSTW einer – unsere Modellbahnanlage steuern. Viele Besucher nutzen auch lieber die BSTW, wenn sie unter Anleitung selbst Züge fahren. Fa. Viessmann hat uns 5 von der Firma Bockholt gebaute, vierachsige Schiebewand-Wagen im Viessmann Dekor gespendet. Zu unserem 75 jährigen Vereinsjubiläum am 10. November 2006 spendete uns die Firma Bockholt die dazu passende Lok, eine BR 232. Dieser Zug, verstärkt um einige moderne Güterwagen, wird bei jeder Vorführung präsentiert. Großzügige private Spenden erlauben uns gelegentlich die Anschaffung neuer Loks und Wagen. Dabei haben wir Fahrzeuge ausgewählt, die häufig in Hamburg eingesetzt waren: je eine Dampflok der BR 50 mit Kabinentender, BR 41 mit Neubaukessel und Öltender, BR 01.10 ebenfalls mit Neubaukessel und Öltender sowie eine BR 94 sind damit beschafft worden. Eine Diesellok der BR V200 mit passenden F-Zug Wagen und eine Dampflok der BR 38 mit Wannentender mit einigen neuen zweiachsigen Personen-Wagen konnten wir auch in Betrieb nehmen. Letztere fährt bei uns als Personenzug nach Soltau. Als besonderes Geschenk zu unserem 60. Jubiläum haben wir noch eine Dampflok BR 24 bekommen. Endlich läuft auf unserer Anlage auch ein Wendezug mit „Silberlingen“ und einer V100. Unser neustes Fahrzeug ist ein Modell des SVT 04.5. Weitere historische, von Vereinsmitgliedern gebaute Dampf-, Diesel- und Elloks konnten auf das 2-Leiter- Gleichstromsystem umgerüstet und aufgearbeitet werden. Stellvertretend seien hier die Dampfloks der BR 03, 82, 87, 89 70-75 und BR 93 sowie die Diesellok BR 215, der TEE- Triebwagen VT 11.5 und die Ellok BR 103 genannt. Sie verkehren alle auf unserer Anlage. Im Rahmen der Sanierung des Museumsgebäudes ist auch die Eisenbahnhalle renoviert worden. Sie hat neue Fenster erhalten und wurde neu gestrichen. Die sehr unterschiedlichen, alten Vitrinen konnten durch einheitliche aus dem Bestand des Museums für Hamburgische Geschichte ersetzt werden. Unsere Werkstatt im Dachgeschoss des Museums ist nach der Sanierung ebenfalls umgestaltet worden. Wir haben dort jetzt eine Testanlage, die es uns ermöglicht, die Erprobung reparierter und aufgearbeiteter Loks unabhängig von den Vorführungen durchzuführen. Für unsere kleinen Besucher haben wir eine H0-Spielanlage aufgebaut. Diese ist so gestaltet, dass Kinder sich auch ohne ständige Aufsicht damit beschäftigen können. Dabei darf auch mal ein kleines Malheur passieren. Unser großes Vorbild war leider gezwungen, die historische Pfeilerbahn durch einen Neubau zu ersetzen. Statt des Backsteinviaduktes gibt es dort jetzt einen zwischen Spundwänden aufgeschütteten Damm. Auf unserer Anlage kann die historische Pfeilerbahn auch in Zukunft bewundert werden!

Ausblick

Uns fehlen noch einige Hamburgtypische Fahrzeuge für unsere verkehrshistorische Modellbahnanlage nach dem Motto “100 Jahre Eisenbahn-Geschichte in Hamburg”. Die Dampflok BR 03.10 z.B. Sie wurde in den 1950er Jahren von Hamburg aus vor F-Zügen eingesetzt. Ein „Metronom-Zug“ läuft leider noch nicht auf unserer Anlage. Die modernen Güterwagen sind bei uns auch nur in geringen Stückzahlen im Einsatz. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn Sponsoren uns bei der Anschaffung einiger dieser Fahrzeuge unterstützen könnten. Wir sind ein gemeinnütziger Verein und können Ihnen ihre Spende auch bescheinigen. Das oben erwähnte Besucher-Stellwerk für den „Bahnhof 3“ neben dem Haltepunkt „Elbbrücke“ kann bald wieder in Betrieb genommen werden. Dann dürfen unsere Gäste wieder selbständig Rangieraufgaben lösen. Die Aufarbeitung und Umrüstung weiterer historischer Fahrzeuge auf das 2-Leiter- Gleichstromsystem wird fortgesetzt. Für die Durchführung dieser Arbeiten suchen wir Unterstützung durch Hobbykollegen mit Erfahrung und handwerklichem Geschick. Auch Kollegen mit guten Kenntnissen der Elektrotechnik und Elektronik sind uns sehr willkommen. Wenn Sie Freude an der Mitarbeit haben, nehmen wir Sie nach einer Probezeit zum gegenseitigen Kennenlernen gerne als Mitglied in unseren Verein auf.